What scares me the most.

A lot of women have fear about delivery. The unknown. I have two fears about that wonderful day that will be here in the 32 weeks.

1. Joseph. My husband is a type 1 diabetic. He was dx at 21, after we had been married for 2 months. His diagnosis was a scary scary thing, and I’m so thankful we have such wonderful supportive families who drove(past every hospital in town) to bring us clothes and offer us support as we stayed in the ICU. Since then, Joseph has done amazing. He has great control, both of his blood sugars and his impulses. However, when we spent four hours in the ER when I was bleeding, it was enough to get his adrenaline pumping, which has crazy effects on blood sugar. So the endorphins, adrenaline, and anxiety/nervousness around delivery makes me nervous about him. Blood sugar is a weird thing, and there is no predicting it. I just want him to be healthy, comfortable, and coherent through everything.

2. Episiotomy. I hate the idea of one. I don’t want one, honestly I’d rather have a c-section than an episiotomy. I think it is just something I’m going to have to be super clear about with my OB. I don’t want one, if she is really into giving one, then I’ll find a different OB. I don’t want one. Ouch.

4 thoughts on “What scares me the most.

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your husband’s troubles with diabetes. Hopefully it will be well controlled for delivery day. As for epesiotomy, well…I tore delivering my son as he came so fast there wasn’t time for one. And that was pretty painful too and I still ended up with stitches AND I have a little floppy place “down there” too that as split during delivery. Sorry, I know that is TMI. But if you deliver vaginally, then you need to be prepared. They gave me witch hazel foam stuff and Tucks pads which helped tremendously and I sat on a donut for about a week too. It healed quickly!

    1. I’m completely fine with tearing. I just have heard of people getting episiotomies, and still tearing, and after doing some research, its like this. If you cut a piece of paper, just a little, and then tug on it, it’ll rip much easier than if you are trying to rip with the paper in tact. Does that make sense? I’ve also seen and heard from people who get the episitomy, then rip all the way to their rectum. So I’m ok with natural tearing, but I don’t want my Dr to preemptively cut.

  2. I had my first baby 3 1/2 months ago after years of trying. In 2010, my husband and I both became diagnosed with type 1 only months apart. We have been assured that there is still only an 8% chance our doodle bug will become type 1 as well. I agree about being cut!!! I was FIRM about forceps and vacuum when I went in for our induction. When she wasn’t budging they wheeled me for a csection. 🙂 good luck on your pregnancy!!!

Leave a Reply

