Nursery Tour

When we got pregnant, I struggled with the nursery. We had a kiddo room already set up and ready to go, and the other other housed our computer and sewing machine stuff, which we used often. But I didn’t want to use the kiddo room for Calvin. I struggled explain this to people. You can see our kiddo room here. I put a lot of hard work into our kiddo room, and I did it for our kiddos. So they have a spot that is theirs. To know that they are wanted and they aren’t thrown into a computer room with a pack-in-play. They have a room designed for them. Their own space. So I didn’t want to throw Calvin in there to take away from our kiddos. So yes, our kiddo room is all set up for kiddos, and will wait until our house is off hold to fill it. But they aren’t an after thought. They aren’t a plan b.

So, we move our computers and sewing machines out of our front bedroom. I did use one of our kiddo cribs, because we now have a toddler bed and also a twin bed that can be used in there.

We didn’t paint the bedroom, we had painted it this dark grey when we moved in, and I just decided we’d work with it. We used an ikea chair for his room, I thought I wanted to get a recliner or a glider, but I decided I didn’t want it in his room. We did get a nice recliner for the living room, so we have a nice rocker. We bought a cheap cheapy dresser from walmart, which is fine.

WP_20141226_009This is Calvin’s closet, with his diaper stash.WP_20141226_008

Here’s Calvin’s closet. We will likely hang more clothes, but currently each drawer of his dresser has all the sizes of clothes. So top drawer is newborn. Middle is 0-3, and bottom is 3-6. In the plastic drawers are blankets, other clothing that we’ll need eventually. In the hanging organizer, we have towels and washcloths, burp cloths, swaddling blankets, receiving blankets, socks, and hats and bibs.WP_20141226_007

Here is the few into the hall from his room. There is our moses basket, and a sweet radio flyer garage sale find which I love.WP_20141226_006

Kind of a dark picture. But this is from the door into his room. You can see the ikea chair, with an orange pillow. Our bouncer seat(which will likely be moved where needed.) a basket of toys, and a book shelf. Joseph built this book shelf in shop in high school. So far, Just the bottom shelf are Calvin books, the rest are textbooks from college, programming, cook books, harry potters etc. I’m not sure what we’ll do with the rest of the books, or maybe we’ll get a different book shelf for Calvin to prevent climbing when he become mobile.

WP_20141226_005

Another view from the door. This is Calvin’s crib, chair, bouncer seat, and our Calvin and Hobbes posters. I made the bunting and we decided to hang it around the crib, we may move it if become a hazard or we decide we want it somewhere else.WP_20141226_004

This is just the right of Calvin’s crib. A bumbo and a activity cube. These are things we’ll need eventually, but I kinda shoved them in a corner.WP_20141226_003

Sweet radio flyer ride on horse again.WP_20141226_002

Here’s the dresser and dresser top. Our sweet friends E&T are expecting a baby boy in January, and they sent us these land of Nod wooden shakers. I like how they look on the dresser, but I’m sure once Calvin get’s here, they’ll be down and in his mouth. The piggy bank was a gift from Joseph’s aunt. My dear friend made the I am a Child of God and found this beautiful frame. And the Calvin blocks are super special. At our small group shower, both our old and small group families each wrote a sweet message for Calvin on every block. He is so loved and prayed for.WP_20141226_001

Lastly, here is another picture from he closet/bookshelf area. I forgot to mention, the basket to the left of the dresser is just full of blankets.

So there you have it. The moses basket and bouncer seat will likely be moved around the house every day.

We chose not to do a pack-N-play. we will end up getting a hand-me-down from a friend, I don’t anticipate it being set up all the time. We didn’t do a rock-N-plays despite hearing rave reviews. Because most of those people in real life we know who used one while they loved them. All of them had issues with getting their child to sleep in a crib. So we decided we would use our Moses basket, because first of all, it is flat. I nannied for a little girl who had a nap nanny(I think they’ve sense been recalled) for reflux. But she got so use to that incline, that she didn’t sleep(nap) in her crib once they removed it. We’re going to start Calvin off sleeping flat, it may be more difficult in the beginning, but hopefully we won’t have any issues transitioning later. Also the moses basket, we can physically place in the crib to help that transition.

We also don’t have a changing table. I didn’t want one honestly. I feel like I’m going to change Calvin’s diaper where ever we are. Also my friend got us a diaper changing basket that will likely remain in the living room as that is where we’ll likely hang out most of the time.

We do have a swing/glider, but it is set up in the living room.

The current plan is that Calvin will sleep in his bedroom from day one. In his moses basket. We have ordered a video monitor so we can peak in on him. As far as napping. He’ll nap in the Moses basket as well, but we won’t be as strict about that. If he falls asleep in his swing, so be it.

I am currently reading Bring up Bebe, and this is completely Joseph and I’s parenting style. A lot of what the author has observed in French parenting, are things that Joseph and I feel strongly about it.

3 thoughts on “Nursery Tour

Leave a Reply

