Pain.

So most of you all know I had a scheduled section.i very much think the mentality this allowed is the main reason I’m doing how I’m doing. I fully believe I was prepared for this major abdominal surgery mentally, and all that it would entail.

so far I feel great. I can get in and out of bed with no problems. Joseph and my doctor had to tell me to slow down. But I honestly feel great. I’m sore of course, but its manageable. I’m allowed two percocet every four hours, and another pain reliever every eight. I’ve only been taking one Percocet every six or so hours, and that other pain reliever with every other dose of percocet.

we decided after much discussion that Calvin will be formula fed from the start. The first couple of bottles didn’t go over very well, he only maybe drank 3mL. Since yesterday morning he’s been eating more and more. 9, then 15, then 20+, and this most recent feeding was around 30mL. I felt bad, and mind you, I’m not breastfeeding, but Calvin had dropped almost 7oz 30 hours after birth. And I knew he had barely eaten anything for the first 24 hours, and so it wasn’t a surprise, but it still made me feel bad. Hopefully with him eating better it won’t be an issue.

I have loved our night nurse, she is amazing, I feel like she is just great at explaining things. Like Calvin had a bit of a rash, I told our day nurse and she said it was normal. But then when I asked our night nurse, she explains it’s newborn rash, his skin is getting use to being dry. She also sweetly helped the nursery understand that we love our boy so much, but they can keep him at night. Our first night they brought him to us for every feeding. So we told her, and she took care of it. Joseph and I slept together in my hospital bed from ten til four. At four they came in to get my vitals, I got some pain meds, and Joe moved to the couch. We then asked Calvin to be brought to us at shift change. We got him st 7:15, and fed him.

today’s day nurse seems great. She showed us how to change Calvin’s diaper since he was circumcised last night. She also showed us the sacral dimple the doctor ultrasounded yesterday. When she showed it to us, we quickly were able to calm many fears of we have because I have the same thing. We told her this, and she said its often inherited. They just took Calvin back to the nursery to be checked out by the ped who will then come and talk to all the mommies and daddies.

I’m not sure who Calvin looks like. I think he has my lips and nose, but Calvin definitely has joseph’s eyes, toes, chin. Who knows. I’m looking forward to watching him grow.

 

3 thoughts on “Pain.

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re doing well after the c-section! I’m curious to read your upcoming posts as I just decided last night to put Mackenzie on 100% formula and it seems most others I’m following are breastfeeding. I wish you and your family nothing but the best! Congratulations again!

Leave a Reply

